Jun 18, 2021  
2021-2022 Catalog 
    
2021-2022 Catalog

Chicana/o Studies: Transborder Communities


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs and Degrees

 

The Bachelor of Arts degree in Chicana/o Studies offers a curriculum that examines current and past experiences of Chicanas/os and other hemispheric Latina/o Americans whose origins exist south of the United States/Mexican and United States/Caribbean border. This degree places students at the center in the investigation of local issues in context with transborder questions through interdisciplinary and comparative perspectives. The core courses at the lower and upper division level will provide majors with a solid training in Chicana/o Studies while providing them the opportunity to minor or double major in a related disciplinary program.

The Minor in Chicana/o Studies affords students the opportunity to investigate the multi-dimensional culture of the Chicana/o Community in the United States. It is, by definition, interdisciplinary and seeks to provide students with a nuanced appreciation of the population. The minor offers non-majors the opportunity to investigate the historical complexities of societies and social movements and their legacies in the present.

Careers

The Chicana/o Studies major prepares students for careers in the private sector, education, government agencies, or non-profit organizations that serve communities with a significant population of people with origins from Mexico and other nations of Latin America.

Program Learning Outcomes

  1. Demonstrate knowledge of the history and culture of people of Mexican and Latin American origins in the United States, specifically within the region of Southern California.
  2. Analyze the literary, performativity, artistic and visual expressions of Chicanas/os and Latinas/os.
  3. Distinguish variations within Chicana/o communities in respect to class, culture, ethnicity, gender, race, and sexuality.
  4. Identify and discuss the major theoretical and conceptual questions informing Chicana/o Studies over time.
  5. Summarize, explain, and apply social science methods for analyzing social, political, and economic phenomena relevant to the multicultural populations such as demographic trends, public policy, judicial systems, segregation, business practices, public health concerns, etc.
  6. Effectively demonstrate competence in oral, written, and/or visual media to present research findings.

Contact Information

Amanda Sanchez
Academic Program Analyst
amanda.sanchez@csuci.edu
(805) 437-3517

Faculty

José M. Alamillo, Ph.D.
Chairperson & Professor of Chicana/o Studies
Madera Hall, Room 1366
(805) 437-2685
jose.alamillo@csuci.edu 
 

Jennie Luna, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chicana/o Studies
Madera Hall, Room 1727
(805) 437-3727
jennie.luna@csuci.edu
 

Nicholas Centino, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Chicana/o Studies
Madera Hall, Room 1408
(805) 437-8879
nicholas.centino@csuci.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Theresa Avila, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Art
theresa.avila@csuci.edu

 
Frank Barajas, Ph.D. 
Professor of History
Madera Hall, Room 2356
(805) 437-8862
frank.barajas@csuci.edu
 

Karina Chavarria, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Sociology
karina.chavarria@csuci.edu
 

Georgina Guzman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of English
Bell Tower West, Room 1175
(805) 437-3871
georgina.guzman@csuci.edu
 

Julia Ornelas-Higdon, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of History
Madera Hall, Room 1408
(805) 437-2051
julia.ornelas-higdon@csuci.edu
 

Monica Pereira, M.A. M.L.I.S., M.Ed.
Librarian
Broome Library, Room 1571
(805) 437-3654
monica.pereira@csuci.edu
 

Christy Teranishi-Martinez, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychology
Madera Hall, Room 2723
(805) 437-3311
christy.teranishi@csuci.edu
 

Programs

    Major(s)Major(s) - AA/AS-T (TMC) Degrees OnlyMinor(s)

    Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs and Degrees