Oct 21, 2018  
2018-2019 Catalog 
    
2018-2019 Catalog

Health Science


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs and Degrees

Program Description

Bachelor of Science in Health Science is an interdisciplinary degree program that is designed to prepare students for professional careers in private and public health services that aim to enhance the health status of individuals and populations. The program combines the knowledge and skills from multiple disciplines to provide rigorous training in health science with course work and experiential learning in general health science, gerontology and health informatics. The program includes a set of core courses and several elective courses. Our approaches include class work, service, experiential, and online learning.

Careers

The Health Science major will prepare students for careers in hospital administration, hospital records management, health promotion, health educator, program evaluation, health data researcher and public health, as well as graduate education in public health, sociology, psychology, healthcare administration, and public administration.

Program Learning Outcomes

Prepare students for graduate programs or professional careers in private and public health services that aim to enhance the health status of individuals and populations.

Upon completing the program, BS Health Science students will be able to:
• Identify issues and trends in health care delivery systems and public health areas and implement solutions to better health care services to individuals and ethnically and culturally diverse populations.
• Analyze the nature, transmission, pathologic processes, prevention, and control of human diseases from a public health perspective.
• Demonstrate an understanding of health care information systems that affect service delivery with agencies and in the public.
• Demonstrate an understanding of the aging population and the ability to apply knowledge and skills in gerontology in fields from disease prevention and life extension to policy planning and social reform.
• Apply research skills in organizational and personal health settings, and in health education practice.
• Integrate and apply current management concepts and skills in areas of health care personnel, organizations and agencies, emphasizing problem-solving techniques and group communication skills.

Faculty

Ronald Berkowsky, PhD
Assistant Professor - Health Science
Solano Hall 1171
(805) 437-2043
ronald.berkowsky@csuci.edu 

Jennifer Burris, PhD, RD, CNSC, CDE, CSSD, CSG
Lecturer - Health Science
Solano Hall 1123
jennifer.burris@csuci.edu 

Thomas A. Clobes, PhD
Lecturer - Health Science
Solano Hall 1151
thomas.clobes@csuci.edu

Blair Craddock
Lecturer - Health Science
Solano Hall 1123
blair.craddock@csuci.edu

Lydia Dixon, PhD
Assistant Professor- Health Science
(805) 437-2044
Solano Hall 1167
lydia.dixon@csuci.edu

Melissa Gutierrez-Jimenez, BS, MA
Lecturer - Health Science
Associate Professor of Health Science
Solano Hall 1151
melissa.gutierrez@csuci.edu
 

Edward Irobi, PhD, MPH, M.Med.Sc
Lecturer - Health Science
Solano Hall 1123
edward.irobi@csuci.edu

Lynette Landry, PhD, RN
Chair of Health Science
(805) 437-3150
Manzanita Hall 1204
lynette.landry@csuci.edu 

Kristen Linton, PhD
Assistant Professor - Health Science
(805) 437-3757
Solano Hall 1120
kristen.linton@csuci.edu

Carol H. Mack, Ph.D., JD, RN
Associate Professor of Health Science
Solano Hall 1167
(805) 437-2619

carol.mack@csuci.edu

Ashley Parks, DrPH, MPH, MTech, PMP, CLSSBB, MCHES, CPH, CPHQ, CPHRM, HACP, CS-MC, CHTS-IM, CPPS
Lecturer - Health Science
Solano Hall 1123
ashley.parks@csuci.edu

William E. Wagner, III, MA, MPH, PhD
Professor - Health Science & Sociology
(805) 437-3314
Solano Hall 1166
william.wagner@csuci.edu

Ashley Winans, MS, MA
Lecturer - Health Science
Solano Hall 1123
ashley.winans694@csuci.edu

Contact Information:

Health Science
Manzanita Hall 1201
California State University Channel Islands
One University Drive
Camarillo, California 93012

(805) 437-1657

health.science@csuci.edu

Programs

    Major(s)Major(s) - AA/AS-T (TMC) Degrees Only

    Courses

    Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs and Degrees