Sep 24, 2020  
2020-2021 Catalog 
    
2020-2021 Catalog

Applied Physics


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs and Degrees

 

Physics addresses some of the most fundamental scientific questions, from the age of the Universe to the nature of the smallest subatomic particles. Physics challenges the imagination with out-of-the-ordinary phenomena from quantum effects to relativity. The Bachelor of Science in Applied Physics is designed to produce students with understanding, with mathematical rigor, of these and many more phenomena. Graduates will complete the degree with strong problem-solving, data analysis, mathematical, laboratory, and computational skills. Advanced laboratory courses are offered in optics, electronics, and computational methods, alongside advanced theoretical courses.

Careers

The solid foundation offered by a physics degree is excellent preparation for a broad range of technical careers and fields of graduate study.

Program Learning Outcomes

Students graduating from the Applied Physics program will be able to:

    1. Demonstrate understanding of the general principles of physics;
    2. Demonstrate quantitative problem-solving skills;
    3. Integrate the scientific method into problem-solving and experimentation;
    4. Demonstrate critical thinking in the context of physics; and
    5. Demonstrate understanding of physics literature such as textbooks, laboratory manuals, and publications geared toward undergraduates.

Faculty

Gregory Wood, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Physics
Coordinator and Advisor for the Physics Program
Sierra Hall, Room 3319
Phone: (805) 437-3293
gregory.wood@csuci.edu

Geoff Dougherty, Ph.D.
Professor of Physics
Sierra Hall, Room 3432
Phone: (805) 437-2798
geoff.dougherty@csuci.edu

William Barber
Lecturer in Physics
Sierra Hall, Room 3432
Phone: (805) 437-2798
william.barber@csuci.edu

David Bennett
Lecturer in Physics
Bell Tower East, Room 1796
Phone: (805) 437-3293
david.bennett@csuci.edu

Edward Blazejewski
Lecturer in Physics
Sierra Hall, Room 3432
Phone: (805) 437-2798
edward.blazejewski@csuci.edu

Dale Capewell
Lecturer in Physics
Bell Tower East, Room 2808
Phone: (805) 437-2780
dale.capewell@csuci.edu

Clinton Harper
Lecturer in Physics
Sierra Hall 2132
Phone: (805) 437-3984
clinton.harper@csuci.edu

David Nelson
Lecturer in Physics
Bell Tower East, Room 2808
Phone: (805) 437-2780
david.nelson@csuci.edu

Brian Rasnow
Lecturer in Physics
Sierra Hall, Room 3432
Phone: (805) 437-2798
brian.rasnow@csuci.edu

Tabitha Swan-Wood
Lecturer in Physics
Solano Hall, Room 1164
Phone: (805) 437-8401
tabitha.swanwood@csuci.edu

Ron Wallingford
Lecturer in Physics
Sierra Hall, Room 3432
Phone: (805) 437-2798
ronald.wallingford@csuci.edu

 

Contact Information

http://appliedphysics.csuci.edu 

Programs

    Major(s)Major(s) - AA/AS-T (TMC) Degrees OnlyMinor(s)

    Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs and Degrees