Sep 29, 2020  
2020-2021 Catalog 
    
2020-2021 Catalog

School of Education


The School of Education is devoted to the advancement of teaching and learning. Our image for teacher education begins with a vision for pre-kindergarten to grade 12 school programs in the 21st century. Young people who complete their schooling are the most educationally, socially, and economically advantaged. They become adults who are lifelong learners and have the basic skills necessary for leading a full and rewarding life in an interdependent society and an information and service driven economy. The power of educators to make the fundamental difference in students’ lives makes education the most important social service.

Our Education Program builds from the foundation of the undergraduate Liberal Studies major with a Teaching and Learning Emphasis, Early Childhood Studies major, and academic majors in Biology, Chemistry, English, Mathematics, and History/Social Science (subject matter programs) and extends to the two Master of Arts programs. Our Education Programs contribute to the teaching profession by preparing teachers and school administrators, who believe that all students have the ability to achieve high standards, who adapt their teaching to reach all students, and who respect the diversity of all students. Our graduates are reflective about their teaching, their attitudes, and their ability to work in collaborative analytical teams.

The Master of Arts in Education program focuses on Curriculum and Instruction or Disability Studies. The Master of Arts in Educational Leadership focuses on Higher Education, or P12 Administration which leads to the Preliminary Administrative Services Credential.

All credential programs and the School of Education have been fully accredited by the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing. Students who are hired by local public schools prior to completing all of their preliminary credential requirements may be eligible for an internship program. Contact the credential advisor for an internship application. Notice to Students about Professional Licensure and Certification, please access the Chancellor’s Office site: Professional Licensure and Certification Notice.

Program Learning Outcomes

  •     Students can teach all subjects in their area of specialty;
  •     Students are able to teach children with English as first or second language;
  •     Students understand and relate to the diversity of languages and cultures in and among children and families;
  •     Students can meet the diverse needs of all students, including those with special needs;
  •     Students are reflective and deliberative practitioners;
  •     Students link content and pedagogy;
  •     Students actively engage children in their learning; and
  •     Students integrate research, theory, and effective educational practice into their teaching.

Dean

Brian R. Sevier, Ph.D. 
Madera Hall, Room 2722 
(805) 437-2073 
brian.sevier@csuci. edu 

Associate Dean and Director of Clinical Experiences & Partnerships Office

Kathryn Howard, Ph.D.
Maderal Hall, Room 2901
(805) 437-8936
kathryn.howard@csuci.edu

Faculty

Robert E. Bleicher, Ph.D.
Professor of Science Education
Madera Hall, Room 2405
(805) 437- 8508
bob.bleicher@csuci.edu

Merilyn Buchanan, Ph.D.
Professor of Education
Madera Hall, Room 1707
(805) 437-8579
merilyn.buchanan@csuci.edu

Lillian Vega-Castaneda, Ed.D.
Professor of Education
Madera Hall, Room 1707
(805) 437-8872
lillian.castaneda@csuci.edu

Manuel Correia, Ph.D.
Professor of Education, Chair Credential, Programs
Madera Hall, Room 2623
(805) 437-3292
manuel.correia@csuci.edu

Michelle Dean, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
Madera Hall, Room 2602
(805) 437-3735
michelle.dean@csuci.edu

Tadashi Dozono, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
Madera Hall, Room 2725
(805) 437-1647
tadashi.dozono@csuci.edu

Talya Drescher, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
Madera Hall, Room 1361
(805) 437-1688
talya.drescher@csuci.edu

Jeanne Grier, Ph.D.
Professor of Education, Chair Graduate Program
Madera Hall, Room 1341
(805) 437-8987
jeanne.grier@csuci.edu

Carolee Koehn Hurtado, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
Madera Hall, Room 1406
(805) 437-3739
carolee.hurtado@csuci. edu

Tiina Itkonen, Ph.D.
Professor of Education and Political Science
Madera Hall, Room 2361
(805) 437-3294
tiina.itkonen@csuci.edu

Kara Naidoo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
Madera Hall, Room 1364
(805) 437-2743
kara.naidoo@csuci.edu

Carola Oliva Olson , Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Education
Madera Hall, Room 2721
(805) 437-3689
carola.matera@csuci.edu

Kaia Tollefson, Ph.D.
Professor of Education
Madera Hall, Room 1405
(805) 437-3125
kaia.tollefson@csuci.edu

Charles Weis, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
Madera Hall 2711
(805) 437-2060
charles.weis@csuci.edu

Annie White, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
Madera Hall 1616
(805) 437-2053
annie.white@csuci.edu

Contact Information

School of Education
(805) 437-3338
http://education.csuci.edu/

Clinical Experiences and Partnerships Office
(805) 437-8953
http://education.csuci.edu/credentials