Skip to Navigation
    California State University Channel Islands
   
 
  Nov 19, 2017
 
 
    
2017-2018 Catalog

Economics


Return to Programs and Degrees Return to: Programs and Degrees

 

The Bachelor of Arts in Economics focuses on the integration of core economic analysis with relevant interdisciplinary applications. The degree develops analytical tools and communication skills in the context of economic theory and its linkages to a broad array of human decisions. Economics, as a social science, seeks to explain and predict the behavior of consumers, producers, managers, government officials and citizens by examining the interactions of incentives and constraints in an environment of ever-present scarcity of time, skills and resources. Microeconomics focuses on the choices of individuals and firms, as well as their role in the marketplace, while macroeconomics aggregates economic activity to the national level to analyze trends and fluctuations in overall economic activity. The Bachelor of Arts in Economics offers flexibility and opportunity through its emphases: general, international and managerial. Economics majors are encouraged to select one of the two options: International Economics or Managerial Economics and also pursue minors to deepen their connections to other disciplines.

Careers

The Martin V. Smith School of Business and Economics programs prepares students to work in a variety of organizations - public and private - as well as advanced studies in several types of graduate and professional programs: MBA, MPA, law school, MA in Economics.

Program learning Goals for Bachelor of Arts in Economics

  • Prepare students for employment in a variety of public and private organizations.
  • Prepare students for further study in graduate or professional schools.
  • Apply economic analysis to evaluate everyday decisions and policy proposals.
  • Propose viable solutions to practical problems in economics.
  • Use empirical evidence to support an economic argument.
  • Conduct statistical analyses of data, and interpret statistical results.
  • Communicate effectively in written, spoken and graphical form about economic issues.

Faculty

William P. Cordeiro, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs, Director, MBA Program
Sage Hall, Room 2011
(805) 437-8860
william.cordeiro@csuci.edu

Jared P. Barton, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Economics
Sage Hall, Room 2137
(805) 437-1640
jared.barton@csuci.edu

Minder Chen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Management Information Systems, Faculty Advisor
Sage Hall, Room 2027
(805) 437-2683
minder.chen@csuci.edu

Dax D. Jacobson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Management Information Systems
Sage Hall, Room 2143
Phone: (805) 437- 1641
dax.jacobson@csuci.edu

Priscilla Z. Liang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Finance
Sage Hall, Room 2131
(805) 437-8926
priscilla.liang@csuci.edu

J. Andrew Morris, Ph.D.
Professor of Management, Chair of Business
Sage Hall, Room 2149
(805) 437-2771
john-andrew.morris@csuci.edu

Dennis Muraoka, Ph.D.
Professor of Economics
Sage Hall, Room 2133
(805) 437-8861
dennis.muraoka@csuci.edu

Claudio A. C. Paiva, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Economics
Sage Hall, Room 2039
(805) 437-2684
claudio.paiva@csuci.edu

Sung Won Sohn, Ph.D.
MVS Endowed Professor of Economics
Sage Hall, Room 2033
(805) 437-2789
sung.sohn@csuci.edu

Dylan Cooper, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Management
Sage Hall, Room 2133
(805) 437-2271
dylan.cooper@csuci.edu

Hua Dai, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Management Information Systems
Sage Hall, Room 2143
(805) 437-1641
hua.dai@csuci.edu

Contact Information

http://econ.csuci.edu

Programs

    Major(s)Major(s) - AA/AS-T (TMC) Degrees OnlyMinor(s)

    Return to Programs and Degrees Return to: Programs and Degrees